Pinky Chai Hits The Grits


Good morning!

image

Well, I hadn’t planned on discussing food, but after titling this post I now, feel it is inevitable. And my insatiable appetite agrees.

Food, after all is the sustenance of life.

In many peoples’ cases, food is life. For me, this is most definitely the case.

Pinky and good food have a long, torrid love affair together. Am I addicted to food? Quite possibly. Am I addicted to breakfast? Most definitely.

I literally, LOVE food. I could talk about food or write about food while eating food for hours on end, literally. Where is this practiced as part of the culture? What countries hold food in the highest of regards, like I do?

Hmmm…??

Okay, my brain just took a slight detour to answer the above self-inflicted question and to compile Pinky’s Hit List of Cultures That Love Their Food.

And now back to the…

Nitty Grit-ty

Grits. What kind of a born-and-raised Georgia girl would I be if I didn’t have a special place in my heart for grits? Not a very good one. No.

I do, I love grits. I know it isn’t popular with what… maybe 80 percent of the population? So from this “statistic”, I can only deduce that if you’re part of the majority on this one, you’re obviously not doing it right (hehe).

Grit Tip

Here’s a tip for all the *yankees out there:

(*please excuse the term not trying to pull a Paula Deen. Please don’t be offended, yankees or Paula Deen admirers – I adore you all.)

Seriously though, I just love her. Just to prove I love her, I’ll post her grits recipe because she does a grit, right.

Grits aren’t intended to be sweetened or whatever else northerners (ahem) do to their grits. I like mine best with butter, salt and cheese. Simple and Good.

St. George, South Carolina claims their fame as the “grits capital of the world” by eating the most pound of grit(s) per capita. They also have a parade…no, a festival of grits every year. I don’t know the actual name, but if anyone, out there has ever been to this “celebration of grits” in St. George, SC — please comment on your experience. I’d love to hear about it.

Breakfast: Pinky-Style
image

image

image

But my love for breakfast foods doesn’t quit w/the grit. I love
fruit, donuts, waffles, crepes, eggs, quiche muffins, omlettes, steak, pancakes, sausage, bacon, cinnamon toast, coffee, tea, juice and all the other deliciousness that goes along with breakfast. Oh! biscuits and gravy, danish(es), and French toast, too.

(( Items listed above are in order of Pinky Chai’s preference ))

Fattening Greasy & So Good

I can and DO eat a variety of foods. Anyone who knows me will tell you, I’m no picky eater. & Coincidentally, I eat in large quantities, particularly at breakfast. That’s when I crave “truck stop food”, as I have come to call it.

Where I Draw The Line

However, there are lines I will not cross. Especially when it comes to breakfast. For example, like my father did in Japan, I can’t eat fish for breakfast. No, no. Some things a girl just can’t do.

Thanks for reading! Share your favorite recipes, comment or subscribe

3 responses to “Pinky Chai Hits The Grits

  1. Joseph Young

    Great articles! I love your writing style, PChai. Keep it up! Eagerly awaiting your next post.

  2. Pingback: Who’s Afraid of Pinky Chai? | Pinky Chai Goes To Town

Leave a Reply

Pinky Hits

  • 1,945 hits

Hot Pinkys

  • None

Follow Pinky Chai Goes To Town on WordPress.com

Top Posts & Pages

Top Clicks

  • None
